Suzhou (Chinese: pinyin: Su-zho-u; Suzhou dialect:, previously transliterated as Su-chou, Suchow, and Soochow, is a major city located in the southeast of Jiangsu Province in Eastern China, located adjacent to Shanghai Municipality. The city is situated on the lower reaches of the Yangtze River and on the shores of Taihu Lake and is a part of the Yangtze River Delta region. Administratively, Suzhou is a prefecture-level city with an urban population of over 4 million expanding to over 10 million in the administrative area.

General Information

Suzhou is a little city in the East of China.  Little is a relative term as the population is about 6 Million people.  It is a suburb of the larger Shanghai which has a population near 24 Million.

Updated March 29, 2014